Senior Nationals entering its 105th year


Senior Nationals entering its 105th year

The Senior Irish Nationals is one of the longest running event.  Men's singles and ladies singles date back to 1912. The event has a great deal of history with some of Ireland's greatest players winning multiple titles. JP (Chick) Doyle (featuring in the main photo) claimed the men's singles titles eight straight years from 1954-1961. 

In the ladies singles, Barbara Beckett (pictured on the left) has 9 ladies singles national titles to her name from the 70's and 80's. Liam Mckenna (pictured right) has also won multiple National singles titles in the late 80's and early 90's.

The tournament this weekend takes place in Lisburn rackets club running alongside the U15 Nationals. Three-time Olympian Chloe Magee will be aiming to surpass Bruce Topping as the player with the highest number of winners titles in all events. Bruce has 21 in total with Chloe on 21 presently, however, Chloe is favourite to win the 2 events she is competing in.

Click on the link to view all of the past National winners across any discipline.


Top 3 all time National title winners

Men's Singles
1. Michael Watt - 9 Titles
2. Scott Evans - 8 Titles
3. JP (Chick) Doyle - 8 Titles
Ladies Singles
1. Chloe Magee - 10 Titles 
2. Barbara Beckett - 9 Titles
3. Yvonne Kelly/Ciara Doheny - 6 Titles
Men's Doubles
1. Bruce Topping - 9 Titles
2. Frank Peard - 9 Titles
3. James FitzGibbonn - 9 Titles
Ladies Doubles
1. Yvonne Kelly - 12 Titles
2. Keelin Fox - 9 Titles
3. Mary O'Sullivan - 7 Titles
Mixed Doubles
1. Bruce Topping - 9 Titles
2. Sam Magee - 9 Titles
3. Chloe Magee - 9 Titles

« Back