Sport Inclusion Charter


Badminton Ireland are delighted to confirm that we have signed up to the Sport Inclusion Disability Charter.

This is the first ever Charter in Ireland which is specific to the participation of people with disabilities in sport and physical activity. The Charter outlines five key areas that people with disabilities are asking organisations to consider in making active and healthy lifestyles possible for them.

We encourage all of our clubs to support the inclusion of people with a disability in badminton by signing up to the charter at the following link; Ensure to notify when your club has committed to the Charter, and make sure to publicise and promote the commitment on club social media accounts. 

Throughout the year we aim to honour our commitment to the Charter by taking 50 steps which make us a more inclusive organisation in 2019. These steps can be followed on our website and social media platforms.

#Step1 Badminton Ireland commit to the Sport Inclusion Disability Charter and encourage clubs to sign up to the Charter.

#Step2 Badminton Ireland circulates a survey to determine current inclusive practices among its Member Organisations nationwide. Questions for the survey were based off the five key areas of the Charter.

#Step3 Badminton Ireland introduce the three Irish Athletes who will compete for Team Ireland in Badminton at the 2019 Special Olympic World Summer Games . Sarah Rea, John Doyle, Mary Daly, and their coaches Kim McCrave and Claire Heffernan will make the trip to the Games taking place in Abu Dhabi in March.

#Step4 Badminton Ireland promote two of our Para-Badminton athletes; Niall McVeigh and Andrew Moorcroft who compete internationally for Ireland. Both athletes train with, and are affiliated to Alpha Badminton Club in County Antrim.

#Step5 Badminton Ireland highlight training courses provided by CARA to upskill people in delivering inclusive activities.

#ImInToo #Promotion #People #Activities #Facilities #Openness

Badminton Ireland Member Organisations who have signed up to the Charter:

  • Leinster Badminton
  • Munster Badminton
  • Ulster Badminton
  • Ailesbury BC
  • Ballymurphy BC
  • Banbridge BC
  • Carland BC
  • Dublin Schools Badminton
  • Lisburn 2gether Pan Disability BC
  • Moyvane BC
  • Three Rivers BC