Clean sweep for Leinster at the 2017 FZ Forza Inter-provincials


Clean sweep for Leinster at the 2017 FZ Forza Inter-provincials

Leinster teams saw off stiff competition on day one of the FZ Forza Irish Inter-Provincials to claim all three titles. Play started at 10 am on Saturday morning in Baldoyle Badminton Centre, Dublin. Under 13, 15 and 17 teams competed throughout the day.

In the Under 13s all four provinces entered teams to compete for the title. Leinster took on Munster in the opening round, beating the opposing province 8-2. Connacht took on Ulster but ultimately lost the tie 3 matches to 7. Leinster continued their run by beating Connacht 3-7 before facing Ulster in a deciding tie, with both provinces having 2 wins a piece. It was a tightly contested match-up but Leinster proved victories over Ulster to claim the U13 Inter-Provincial title 6 matches to 4.

The U15s saw teams from Ulster, Munster and Leinster battle it out on court with Leinster taking on Munster in the opening round. Leinster came out on top before Munster took on Ulster. Ultimately it came down to Ulster versus Leinster for the deciding match up but Leinster proved too much for the U15 Ulster team who lost 0-10 games.

Finally the U17s showcased up and coming talented players from Munster, Leinster and Ulster. Leinster beat Ulster in the opening match before Munster and Ulster tied on matches in the 2nd, Munster progressed on number of games won to face Leinster, who claimed their 3rd title of the day, beating Munster 2-8.

Day 2 of the tournament kicked off with the Grade As and Over 50s on court. It was a straight final with Leinster taking on long-time rivals and defending champions Ulster. It was a fiercely contested battle on all courts and ultimately came down to number of games won, with Leinster reclaiming the title 14 games to 13. The Masters O40 played out in a similar fashion with Leinster and Ulster winning 6 matches a piece, Leinster took their 2nd title of the day on games, 15 to 13. Leinster closed out the day with a clean sweep of titles adding both the Premier title with a win over Leinster and the grade A with wins over Connacht and Ulster.

« Back