Senior and U15 FZ Forza Irish Nationals 2017


Senior and U15 FZ Forza Irish Nationals 2017

It was a great weekend of badminton in Lisburn Racquets Club for the 2017 Irish Senior and U15 National Championships, with many top players battling it out to become National title holders. A big congratulation to all the winners. Three-time Olympian Chloe Magee won both the ladies doubles and mixed doubles in the event, bringing her total of National titles to 23, which is the highest number of titles held by any Irish player across all disciplines. The weekend also saw U17 European Champion Nhat Nguyen win his second men's singles National title at the age of 16.

Sam Magee added two further National titles to his name with brother Joshua Magee in the men's doubles and Chloe Magee in the mixed doubles. Rachael Darragh also won her first ever National titles by winning the women's singles and women's doubles with Chloe Magee.

In the U15's Nationals, there were some close and excellent matches throughout the day. Sean Laureta and Kim Feehily both picked up two National titles on the weekend. Kim won the girl's doubles with her partner Kerry Fallon and Sean won the boy's doubles with his partner Daniel O'Meara. Kim and Sean also took the mixed title. Alexandra Troy took gold in the girl's singles, while in the boy's singles Peter Mcdonald came out on top. 

See below for all of the winners and runners-up.

Senior Irish National Championships 2017 - Winners and Runners Up


MS (21-19 21-19)

Winner - Nhat Nguyen (see left)

Runner Up - Joshua Magee


WS (22-20 21-15)

Winner - Rachael Darragh

Runner Up -  Sara Boyle


MD (21-16 21-13)

Winners -  Joshua Magee & Sam Magee

Runners Up - Nhat Nguyen & Paul Reynolds




WD (19-21 21-7 21-11)

Winners -  Rachael Darragh & Chloe Magee (see right)

Runners Up - Sinead Chambers & Jennie King


XD (21-14 21-7)

Winners - Sam Magee & Chloe Magee

Runners Up - Ciaran Chambers & Sinead Chambers






U15 National Championships 2017 Winners and Runners Up


BS U15 (15- 21 21-11 21-15)

Winner - Peter Mcdonald (see left)

Runner Up - Evan Byrne


GS U15 (19-21 21-13 21-12)

Winner - Alexandra Troy

Runner Up - Kerry Fallon


BD U15 (21-12 21-16)

Winners - Sean Patrick Laureta & Daniel O’Meara

Runners Up - Matthew Cheung & Vincent Pontanosa


GD U15 (16-21 21-13 21-14) 

Winners - Kerry Fallon & Kim Feehily (see right)

Runners Up - Orla Flynn & Megan Mcloughlin


XD U15 (29-30 21-9 21-15)

Winners -  Sean Patrick Laureta & Kim Feehily

Runners Up - Peter Mcdonald & Kerry Fallon


A big thank you to all our umpires, referees, volunteers and Lisburn Racquets Club for hosting the event. Also, thank you to Badminton Ireland President Betty Thompson for presenting the prizes.

Please follow this link to the full results from Irish National Senior Championships.

Please follow this link to the full results from Irish National U15 Championships.

For more photos from the 2017 Irish Senior and U15 Nationals please click on this link.


« Back